The Key to the Rainbow

Original Author: Mike Horvath New version by j...

Original Author: Mike Horvath New version by jacobolus (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve been working on a newsletter from Mail Chimp, which offers a free email service. For the basic service, they allow users a certain limited amount of colors within their templates of their WYSIWYG editor.

The color I’d been looking for to compliment my newsletter wasn’t one that was offered. Yet, I noticed they gave the hexadecimal code alongside the color block, so I thought… why not replace the code with the color I wanted?

After finding hexadecimal color charts online at html-color-codes.com, I began plugging in other codes and to my surprise it worked.

As silly and simple as this little task may be, I was glad I read about RGB values and hexadecimal codes in The Non-Designers Web Book prior to my design attempts.

It allowed me to get the color I wanted instead of settling for what was offered.

Leave a comment